Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Message from the Chair

Pankaj Desai Photo

Pankaj Desai

It is my pleasure to welcome you to the Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy at the University of Cincinnati.

The overall mission of the Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences is to advance the state of knowledge in the pharmaceutical sciences through our research in the discovery, design and action of therapeutic agents and health care products and to provide the highest level of instruction in pharmaceutical sciences in the PharmD and MS/PhD curricula. The division actively supports graduate education that leads to advanced degrees in the pharmaceutical sciences in order to provide highly trained scientists for the pharmaceutical, cosmetic and personal care industries, government agencies, and academia.

The Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences currently consists of 16 full-time faculty. Division faculty are accomplished scientists with backgrounds in pharmacology, pharmaceutics, pharmacokinetics, medicinal chemistry and cell and molecular biology. They conduct innovative research in fundamental and translational biomedical sciences. The research focus areas of the division include experimental therapeutics, with a particular emphasis in neuroscience and cancer cell biology, and biomembrane science which spans transdermal drug delivery to nanopharmaceutics.

Our faculty are committed scientists/educators who also contribute not only to the teaching mission of the College in:

Headshot of Pankaj Desai

Pankaj Desai

Chair of Pharmaceutical Sciences Division
, Pharmacy Desai Lab

3005 H Medical Sciences Building


Pankaj B. Desai is currently Professor and Director, Drug Development Graduate Program, College of Pharmacy, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH. His research interests include pre-clinical and clinical studies on drug metabolism, transport and pharmacokinetics. The current focus of his laboratory is on the regulation of drug-metabolizing enzymes and its relevance to clinical pharmacology of anti-cancer and antiretroviral drugs. Dr. Desai directs a vigorous, extramurally-funded research program and has authored numerous peer-reviewed publications. His research has been funded by NIH, Komen Foundation, American Cancer society and various pharmaceutical companies. He has mentored over 20 MS/Ph.D. students and was the principal architect for the novel graduate curriculum in drug development program at UC College of Pharmacy. Dr. Desai is an active member of several organizations including American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, where he served as the chair of the Drug Metabolism Focus Group of AAPS from 2001-2003. He is currently a member of the Shulman Associates Institutional Review Board and of the Transitional Research and Drug Development (TRADD) Committee and Phase I /Early Clinical Pharmacology sub-committee of the Adults AIDS Clinical Trials Group. He also serves as a member of the Experimental Therapeutics Study Section for Department of Defense Breast Cancer Research Program. Dr. Desai has received numerous teaching and research excellence awards at both University of Louisiana and University of Cincinnati. These include the Researcher of the Year Award at ULM in 1994 and the President’s Excellence Award at UC in 2006.